Skip to content

2012 is a new year

December 6, 2011

I had a couple of new post ideas I was going to finish the year on, but when I tried to follow through on them, I realised that though they seemed liked legendary ideas in my own mind, written out they are just lame.

That’s the beautiful thing about the written word – it helps sift the weeds from the roses. And, to be honest, 2011 has drained me of every last rosy idea. It’s time for a break.

Thanks for reading and commenting. I wish you a joyful holiday break.

I’ll be back in the new year, on February 1. That should give me enough time to prune my internal landscape, so to speak.

Thought I’d close the year with a funny link that lists best/worst similes. I think it’s been around for a while, so you may have seen it. My favourite is: “The sunset displayed rich, spectacular hues like a .jpeg file at 10 percent cyan, 10 percent magenta, 60 percent yellow and 10 percent black.”

Surely you can picture that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Leigh Robshaweigh permalink
    December 6, 2011 23:15

    Thanks for your wonderful posts this year Rachel. I look forward to more Lust for Language insights in the new year. Thanks for this link to the funny similes too, loved it!

Leave a Reply

